Landmark in Lights at Bryn Athyn, Pa

I love to shoot at Bryn Athyn and last night was our workshop at their “Landmark in Lights” event. The lights go on about 8:00 pm and stay on till 11:00. Last year was packed with photographers all over the lawn. This year was definitely lighter. I was surprised since it was such a beautiful night to photograph.

I love to share and teach so off we went to check out our surroundings. The night sky was still light so it gave us ample opportunity to photograph some of the beautiful gardens there. (I happen to know the gardener and she does such a beautiful job here at all seasons).

As the sun went down and the lights came on, it was time to start shooting from the grounds. We started with Cairnwood Mansion (an old favorite of mine from shooting weddings in the day). It is just grande! Here’s one I shot and played with in Photoshop. The original image is gorgeous but I wanted to try something new.

EDIT9990

Next door to this is the Pitcairn Estate

EDIT2Lart 9994

The night sky was getting darker and we turned around to see the Cathedral all lit up. What a beautiful scene! My one student Christine had never been here before, only driven by, and she was so thrilled to be on these spectacular grounds.

IMG_0012

Again getting darker, so one last shot, but let’s try a closer view. This is one of my favorites from the night.

©Katydid0013

So last but not least, I taught how to use your zoom lens to get some very cool abstracts. Here’s my version. Each one will look different.

EDIT0021

All night scenes were photographed using long exposures, +/- adjustments, if necessary, self-timer and tripod. If you’d like to join me on a workshop shooting adventure, please check out my schedule at http://www.KatydidPhoto.com

Leave a Reply

