The Signature Storyboard of a Loving Family

candid3270

Over the weekend, I was very fortunate and got to know a family with 3 lovely children. I spent Sat. evening with them as they relaxed and got into their jammies and then the entire day on Sunday with them at their house and on the beach. pj kidsjpg

They were on vacation at the family seashore home that their grandparents owned. Dan-Dan is just about to turn 3, Zoey 5 and Alice 7. They were well behaved, especially loved their Mimi and were energetic as children are. I took some candids as they interacted with the family and then did some closeups of each individual child so they all had their special time in front of the camera. Katydid 3273

Katydid 3338

Katydid 3352

There was plenty of sunshine coming thru the windows so I was able to shoot quietly without disturbing the natural goings-on of the day.  It didn’t bother them as I was shooting in the house as they went along with their daily routine. It was good to do some photos inside, we had some nice soft window light bouncing around and the best part is it is a more controlled environment where I can get kids total attention and we all know that can sometimes be difficult. I find there are always children who won’t look directly at you even though they try to cooperate with you but if you’re patient, you will get great results.  TP3314

Then it was off to the beach for some group shots of the three of them. When taking photos, I try to let them be themselves and then add just a touch of posing and lighting to their story. I don’t mind if parents help out a little but I need to stay focused and concentrate on posing, depth of field, lighting and then of course, expression! The childrens mommy was great in asking them to say some funny things that she knew were things that generally weren’t said around the house. I thought this was a great idea and there were no bad words, just words you wouldn’t want them to say at the dinner table. This session didn’t last long as most of you reading this know how bad the heat and humidity have been here on the East Coast this summer. But all in all it was well worth venturing out to the bay for photos and the kids got to see a part of the ocean they weren’t familiar with and explore. Katydid3437

Katydid3399ART

I’ve often thought of offering my services like this to families that could afford to keep me at their residence for a few days or longer. How great would it be to really capture every day family life and all the little nuances that happen. I know parents take a lot of photos of their family today because of the digital technology, but are they present in the story? Usually not, they’re behind the camera.                                                                                                                 If you would like to share your family with me, I would be honored to photograph them. Feel free to contact me.  Live life to its fullest!                        Warmly, Kathy Peoples

Leave a Reply

